Lenten Devo_Day 29 “Past Longings”

“How I long for the months gone by, for the days when God watched over me, when his lamp shone upon my head and by his light I walked through darkness! Oh, for the days when I was in my prime, when God’s intimate friendship blessed my house.” (Job 29:1-3)

Job longed for the past. He wanted to go back to a time when he not only enjoyed close relationships with his family members – He also longed for the close walk with God he once enjoyed. What is by far one of my favorite passages in all of Scripture, Job desperately wanted to go back to a time when his house was blessed by an intimate friendship with God. It’s what our Father wants to have with us.

Job’s thoughts sound a lot like one song writer. “These things I remember as I pour out my soul: how I used to go with the multitude, leading the procession to the house of God, with shouts of joy and thanksgiving among the festive throng…” (Psalm 42:6)

“I used to…” Those can be some very difficult thoughts, but they don’t have to be. The past, no matter who you are or what you’ve done, does not have to be the best time of your life. After asking him, “why so downcast, o my soul?” that Psalm writer continued,

“Deep calls to deep in the roar of your waterfalls; all your waves and breakers have swept over me. By day the LORD directs his love, at night his song is with me—a prayer to the God of my life.” (Psalm 42:7-8)

Was there a time when you enjoyed a closer friendship with God? Do you remember a time when you were deeper in your relationship with Him? If you feel like your friendship with Him is shallow, don’t stay there. Go deeper. “Deep calls to deep.” We’re wired for a deeper friendship with God. We’re wired for deeper friendships with one another.

Don’t stay in the shallows. Don’t remain in the past. Let your memories of the past drive you deeper in the present.

One thought on “Lenten Devo_Day 29 “Past Longings”

  1. Johnny & Ernie, Enjoyed today’s devotional. There are times when we are going through hard times we feel the LORD’s blessing is no longer with us, but that is not true – Job later finds out that God is in fact pushing him deeper. Calling Job to know him more (Job 42:5-6 I had only heard about you before, but now I have seen you with my own eyes. …I sit in dust and ashes to show my repentance.). And at the end of the book we see God just lavish Job with more blessings. Thank you for reminding me that He is with me through everything. God bless, Amy

Leave a comment